counter statistics
Rohit got the responsibility, Kohli was dropped from the team

Rohit got the responsibility, Kohli was dropped from the team

As expected, Rohit Sharma has replaced Virat Kohli as the captain of the Indian cricket team in the T20 format. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) formally appointed Rohit on Tuesday (November 9th).

However, this news is not as surprising

Even more surprising is the recent omission of former captain Virat Kohli from the team. Virat Kohli is not in the squad of Team India in the upcoming T20 series against New Zealand!

In the meantime, if you are dropped from the team due to injury or rest

it is made clear by the board at the time of squad announcement. But that was not the case with Kohli. And so in the meantime the news is spreading like the wind. Many are pointing fingers at this. But Kohli was removed to give extra power to Rohit!

Kohli went down to play in the desert with the announcement that the ongoing T20 World Cup is the last tournament as a captain. But then it was heard that the BCCI might not let him go if he could perform well in the World Cup. But after losing for the first time in the World Cup against arch-rivals Pakistan in the opening match of the World Cup, Team India also lost badly against New Zealand. After two consecutive defeats, the last three matches were won but the last was not saved. Kohli had to say goodbye to the supporters crying.

Announcing his resignation from the T20 captaincy

Virat Kohli said that he had decided to focus more on Tests and ODIs. However, after that it was heard that this time his ODI captaincy may be taken away. Such is the impression.

Robbie Shastri’s last match as coach was the last match of the World Cup against Namibia. With the collapse of the World Cup, the era of Virat Kohli also came to an end as the captain in the T20 format. Kohli has led 50 matches in this format. India lost 18 matches against 32 wins.

Meanwhile, in the three-match T20 series against the Kiwis, the Indian team got a chance to play for Kolkata in the IPL. Herschel Patel, the owner of the purple cap or purple hat of IPL, also got the green signal. On the other hand, Yuzbendra Chahal has returned to the national team despite not getting a chance in the World Cup squad. The board also has confidence in Ruturaj Gaikwad.

India’s T20 squad against New Zealand

Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishav Pant (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kisan, Benkatesh Iyer, Yuzbendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Akshar Patel, Abhishek Khan, And Mohammad Siraj.

Related Posts